Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Kevin tutors in Cleveland Heights, OH

Kevin R.

Private tutor in Cleveland Heights, OH

Education

B.A. English - Baldwin-Wallace College, 2006 TESOL Certificate - Oxford Seminars, 2007 M.A. English (ESL) - University of Toledo, 2012 M.A. English (ESL) - University of Toledo, Degree expected in May 2012. Certificate in the Teaching of Writing - University of Toledo, expected in May 2012.

Experience

My teaching and tutoring experiences stretch far from the small borders of Ohio. I spent two years in Istanbul teaching a large age range of students, from sixth graders to middle-aged adults. I also instructed people one-on-one for four months, tutoring people at various companies around the same city in Turkey. Topics varied - but my main focuses were (and are) conversation and writing. I have spent two years teaching Composition at the University of Toledo (both to native- and non-native-English speakers). I have worked with many international students in the classroom as well as in reading and speaking labs at the American Language Institute. Along with my MA in English, which I recently obtained, I have also received a Certificate in the Teaching of Writing this May. Ever since I started my teaching and tutoring career, I have found the most gratification from instructing students and seeing how they may have grown from the first day of class to the last. I love being able to impart the knowledge I have so that my students can be successful in all aspects of their lives, from everyday interaction with others to business and educational achievement. Update: I have been teaching in the Cleveland area for two years now, at three different universities. I teach basic ESL courses (grammar, listening, speaking, reading) and also composition courses with a focus on exposition, argument, and research-based writing. I have found tutoring to be even more beneficial and rewarding, as I am able to focus on one person as opposed to the classroom dynamic where there are multiple levels and there is not as much focus on the individual. I am able to talk one-on-one more often and discuss what the exact desires of the tutee are; this is especially helpful when I was teaching students whose first language isn't English. They are more comfortable and are willing to speak up and use the language with just myself present. Additional information: If you are a student whose first language isn't English, we have a large array of areas to work with: we can have conversation classes (which would be cheaper than other tutoring sessions). I also can tutor with writing (academic, business) and hone reading and grammar skills if that is what you desire; I have helped many students revise and edit their theses and dissertations. For those who are native speakers of English, I will focus mainly on writing and the skills that are involved with this. Since I have taught composition and have had a lot of experience with that, academic writing will therefore be my specialty. I live in Cleveland Heights, OH. I am currently looking for people who desire tutoring sessions for the summer months (June-August). I can drive 20 minutes or so from where I currently reside, but any further than that will require additional payment. If you live far from Cleveland Heights, perhaps a designated halfway point might be the best thing for us. We can talk more via email or phone if you wish. I look forward to hearing from you!

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

When I am not studying or teaching, I have an unending appetite for reading and listening to (and finding new) music. I also love the warm weather. Whenever time permits, I dust off the bike and travel around, frequenting coffeehouses and parks and other spots that are warm and welcoming to everyone. I also enjoy running and spending time with those I care about.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!